During the closure of the Mucem,


Programming continues online and the gardens of the fort Saint-Jean remain open to the public from 9am 6pm 7 days a week.

MGEN

MGEN is pleased to renew its partnership with the Mucem for the next five years, to support the overhaul of the museum’s mediation spaces for young audiences. A fun mediation route designed around the concept of an archipelago sprinkled with islands, each of which represents a different mediation space, will allow children and their chaperones (whether teachers and/or family members) to discover the objects and cities of the Mediterranean, opening them up to other horizons, other histories and other cultures. The educational tools that will be offered to the kids – digital technologies and multidisciplinary activities – are intended to encourage amusement but also free expression and learning. With this new mediation mechanism, which will be adapted to every age range, both the Mucem and MGEN hope to double visits from families and school groups and to enable those visitors to enrich their thinking and their knowledge, discover other cultures and develop listening skills and respect for others.

This partnership is placed under the banner of “Culture accessible to all” because the question of education, culture, and its assimilation by the largest, most varied audience possible has been at the heart of our mutual insurance company since its creation.


70th anniversary in 2017


Since its creation 70 years ago, MGEN has continued to fight:
-    Against obscurantism and individualism;
-    For solidarity;
-    To promote culture, education and social awareness by promoting original initiatives in those domains, namely in connection with the scholastic environment, because artistic and cultural education is crucial to the basic upbringing of future citizens, fostering the development of critical thinking in the younger generations and helping to consolidate the notion of living together.
Throughout the 2016/2017 year, we celebrated our 70th anniversary around the country by holding various events and discussions of our vision for the future. More specifically, we spent a lot of time on questions relating to education, culture and youth because those sectors, which have been significantly affected by the continuous ascent of new technologies, are also at the very heart of living together, societal cohesion and equal opportunities.


An active member of the educational community


As an active member of the educational community, inspiring young adults and giving them the means of discovering the full wealth and diversity of cultures and civilizations around the world is of vital importance to us. In fact, we consider culture to be a fundamental right that, in a society where individualism attempts to trump the collective interest, is capable of uniting people and should be shared, fostering relationships with others, and passed on. We believe that culture embodies the power of we, a “we” that is both collective and supportive.

This is why the MGEN Group, which protects 4 million people including public officials from the worlds of education and culture (but also youth, sports and the environment), is a natural partner of associations and organizations working to open all types of audiences up to culture and to the emergence of civic debates based on artistic creation, especially in schools.


Encouraging cultural accessibility actions


After considering questions of the most relevant, optimal methods for receiving more diverse audiences at cultural institutions, where certain social categories remain under-represented, MGEN decided from its earliest days to encourage the popularization actions initiated by cultural institutions.

To achieve this, the insurance company for education, youth and culture opted to get involved in and support various cultural events and programmes nationwide in order to have a presence all over, particularly in areas that are remote or far-removed from the cultural offering, and in that way to make sure not to overlook anyone. MGEN has also decided to promote projects and systems in which schools have a real role to play.

This has included for example collaborations with other major national museums like the Louvre and the Palace of Versailles, but also Cartooning for Peace, of which MGEN is a founding partner, A Date with History in Blois, the High School Speeches for the Defence Competition organized by the Caen Memorial Museum, and Saint-Malo’s international book and film, Etonnants Voyageurs. In January 2017, MGEN became an official partner of the International Comics Festival in Angoulême, more specifically its School Comics Competition.

By partnering with the Mucem, MGEN is continuing 70 years of commitment to making culture widely accessible and is wagering on culture for all as a precondition for the emancipation of individuals.

MGEN

La MGEN est heureuse de nouer, pour les 5 prochaines années, un nouveau partenariat avec le Mucem, en soutenant la refonte des espaces de médiation destinés au jeune public. Un parcours de médiation ludique conçu autour de l’idée de l’Archipel, parsemée de plusieurs îles représentant chacune un espace de médiation différent, va permettre aux enfants et à leurs accompagnants qu’ils soient enseignants et/ou membres de leur famille, de découvrir les objets et les villes de la Méditerranée et ainsi s’ouvrir à d’autres horizons, d’autres histoires et d’autres cultures. Les outils pédagogiques qui seront proposés aux enfants, à savoir des technologies numériques, des activités pluridisciplinaires ont vocation à encourager l’amusement mais également l’expression libre et ainsi favoriser l’apprentissage. Par ce nouveau dispositif de médiation, qui sera adapté à toutes les classes d’âge, le Mucem mais aussi la MGEN espèrent contribuer à doubler la fréquentation des familles et des groupes scolaires, et permettre à ces publics d’enrichir leurs pensées, leurs connaissances, de découvrir d’autres cultures ou encore de développer l’écoute et le respect des autres.
Ce partenariat est placé sous l’intitulé de la « Culture accessible à tous » car la question de l’éducation, de la culture, de son appropriation par le plus grand nombre et par un public varié est au cœur des préoccupations de notre mutuelle, depuis ses origines.


70 ans en 2017


Depuis sa création, il y a 70 ans, la MGEN n’a en effet eu de cesse de se battre :
-    Contre l’obscurantisme, contre l’individualisme ;
-    Pour la solidarité ;
-    Pour promouvoir la culture, l’éducation et la citoyenneté en valorisant des initiatives originales dans ces domaines notamment en relation avec le milieu scolaire au motif que l’éducation artistique et culturelle s’inscrit dans les apprentissages fondamentaux des futurs citoyens, favorise le développement de l’esprit critique des jeunes générations et participe à la consolidation du vivre ensemble.
Tout au long de cette année 2016/2017, nous avons sur l’ensemble du territoire, célébré nos 70 ans via la tenue de diverses manifestations, réflexions tournées sur la vision d’avenir. Plus précisément, nous avons beaucoup abordé les questions concernant l’éducation, la culture, la jeunesse, car ces secteurs, fortement impactés par la montée permanente des nouvelles technologies, sont également au cœur des questions du vivre ensemble, de la cohésion de la société et de l’égalité des chances.


Un membre actif de la communauté éducative


En tant que membre actif de la communauté éducative, donner aux plus jeunes l’envie et les moyens de découvrir la richesse et la diversité des cultures, des civilisations du monde entier nous semble primordial. Nous estimons en effet que la culture est un droit fondamental, qui a vocation dans une société où l’individualisme tente de se substituer au collectif, à rassembler, à être partagé en favorisant la relation aux autres et à être transmis. Que la culture est la force du nous, un nous collectif et solidaire.

C’est pourquoi, le groupe MGEN qui protège 4 millions de personnes dont les agents publics du monde de l’éducation et de la culture (mais aussi de la jeunesse, des sports et de l’environnement) est un partenaire naturel des associations et des organisations qui œuvrent à l’ouverture de tous les publics à la culture et à l’émergence de débats citoyens à partir de la création artistique, notamment dans le cadre de l’école.


Encourager les actions de démocratisation culturelles


C’est en s’interrogeant sur les questions liées aux méthodes les plus pertinentes, les plus optimales pour accueillir un public plus diversifié dans les institutions culturelles, qui sont aujourd’hui encore trop souvent fréquentées par certaines catégories sociales, que la MGEN a décidé depuis son origine d’encourager les actions de démocratisation initiées par les institutions culturelles.

Pour ce faire, la mutuelle de l’éducation, de la jeunesse et de la culture a donc choisi de soutenir et de s’impliquer dans divers programmes, événements culturels sur l’ensemble du territoire afin d’être présent partout et notamment dans les zones isolées ou éloignées de l’offre culturelle et ainsi « n’oublier personne ». La MGEN a également fait le choix de favoriser des projets, des dispositifs dans lesquels l’école a un réel rôle à jouer.

Ainsi, on peut citer les collaborations avec d’autres grands musées nationaux  - Le Louvre, le château de Versailles - mais également Cartooning for Peace, dont la MGEN est partenaire fondateur, les Rendez-vous de l’histoire de Blois, le Concours des plaidoiries lycéennes organisé par le Mémorial de Caen et le festival international du livre et du film de Saint-Malo, Etonnants voyageurs. Depuis janvier 2017, la MGEN est devenue partenaire officiel du festival international de la BD d’Angoulême et plus spécifiquement du concours de la BD scolaire.

En s’associant au Mucem, la MGEN poursuit 70 ans d’engagement pour ouvrir la culture au plus grand nombre et fait le pari de la culture pour tous comme condition de l’émancipation des individus.