On the ground

Collections in progress 

The Mucem is pursuing its policy of survey collections to foster a better understanding of the world in which we live today. In this way, it is running a number of ethnographic survey programmes in Europe and the Mediterranean, sometimes in partnership with French, regional and international research institutions. 

These surveys include the collection of contemporary heritage items, compiling and documenting series of tangible and intangible objects that bear witness to the evolution of human society. These objects, some of which may eventually join the museum’s collections, never arrive alone, but rather with all the documentation (films, photographs, interviews and archives) that can be used to retrace their history, their production and consumer techniques, their uses and their representations.

L’ambiance du derby © Ljiljana Zeljkovic, Mucem

Football & Identities

The “Football & Identities” collection survey represents three years of investigation, conducted from 2014 to 2016 in 10 Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, France, Italy, Israel, Morocco, Palestine, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey.

Discover
Mucem, Tag et graff, Cli, Saeio

Tags and graffiti, “illegal art” at the museum

“Graffiti is removed, hunted down and severely punished, but it also reclaimed, remunerated and so on. It questions the existence of ‘illegal art’ in relation to museums, of art in the streets....” Livre du graffiti (Book of Graffiti), D. Riout, D. Gurdjian & JP Leroux

Discover

Sur le terrain

Les collectes en cours 

Le Mucem poursuit la politique d’enquêtes-collectes afin de contribuer à mieux comprendre le monde dans lequel nous vivons aujourd’hui. Il est ainsi porteur de plusieurs programmes d’enquêtes ethnographiques sur des terrains d’Europe et de Méditerranée, éventuellement en partenariat avec des institutions de recherche régionales, françaises ou internationales. 

Ces enquêtes s’accompagnent de la collecte du patrimoine contemporain, elles rassemblent et documentent des ensembles d’objets tant matériels qu’immatériels, témoins de faits de société. Ces objets, dont certains peuvent entrer dans les collections du musée, n’arrivent jamais seuls, mais avec l’ensemble de la documentation (films, photographies, entretiens, archives) qui permettra d’en retracer l’histoire, les techniques de production et de consommation, les usages, les représentations.

L’ambiance du derby © Ljiljana Zeljkovic, Mucem

Football & identités

L’enquête—collecte «Football & identités», représente 3 ans d’investigations dans 10 pays de la zone méditerranéenne: Algérie, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Espagne, France, Israël, Italie, Maroc, Palestine, Tunisie et Turquie.

Découvrir
Mucem, Tag et graff, Cli, Saeio

Tag et graff, un «art illégal» au musée

Le graffiti est effacé, pourchassé, sévèrement puni; mais il est aussi récupéré, rémunéré... Il interroge l’existence d’un «art illégal» par rapport au musée, d’un art dans la rue... Livre du graffiti, D. Riout, D. Gurdjian, JP Leroux

Découvrir